What the O?

So. I’m miffed, you guys.

When I went and saw the RE this time last week, the answer was clear: the Clomid hadn’t worked, the blood test results checking for ovulation were negative, and the bets were on that I’d have another 60+ day cycle just like last time. At the RE’s advice, I went home and began taking my 10 days progesterone regime, so that we could start afresh.

I started it. I felt nauseous, like last time. We stopped BD-ing, since I felt like death. I kept charting, but stopped OPK-ing & Fertility Monitor-ing, because really, what was the point. The RE basically told me that the Clomid hadn’t worked last cycle.

Well.

I entered my temps as per usual onto FF/TCOYF/CtPreg (Yes, I have THREE online charting sites) and… it’s telling me I ovulated. The day after my RE appointment. When we hadn’t BD-ed at all. Yep.

*head desk*

I can’t tell you how gutted I am that a) I DID actually ovulate after all that and b) I wasn’t expecting it OR gave it at least a shot.

A friend told me it might be that taking the progesterone made my temp rise, hence the websites all became fooled into thinking that the shift was actually an ovulation event… but let’s face it, we won’t know for sure. Now all I’m trying to do is not kick myself too hard, and pray that AF comes soon, so that I can start anew on the 50mg Clomid cycle.

This entry was posted in Angry, Annovulation, Charting, Progesterone, RE, THE BIG O, Waiting = evil and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What the O?

  1. rubyskyline says:

    I’m so sorry for all the frustration, but don’t kick yourself! You can only learn and move forward. Your friend’s right in a way–even if the progesterone didn’t cause the temp rise, it could have been anything else. Like you said, you can’t know for sure. And those websites aren’t an exact science. Also, I’ve heard that ovulating that late in your cycle isn’t the best for conceiving anyway.

    Hope AF gets here quick! I know the relief of being able to start a new cycle.

  2. Jesica says:

    Your friend may be right, try not to kick yourself. Give it a few more days of temps, they may go back down and it was just a random spike, FF is always seeking out an ovulation even when one clearly hasn’t happened, so here’s hoping AF is right around the corner!

  3. Blanche says:

    This whole crap-tastic process stinks. Please try not to beat yourself up about missing an opportunity. Next time you’ll be more educated about what could happen, right? And you move forward from there.

    Now go treat yourself to something nice like a good piece of chocolate or a pedicure. You deserve it!

  4. It was totally the progesterone, let me further explain why I think that. After my MC in July I charted and my charting was so so off, I was getting CM on random days and it didn’t make sense but I didn’t get a temp shift. It was my first month temping though so I thought maybe I was just doing it wrong and I went and convinced myself that I had O’d (without any evidence really at all) so I started taking progesterone because my doctor had said to take it after O. The day after I started it my temp shifted. A week later I had bloodwork and a doctor’s appointment and there were no signs of O at all.

    So let’s just hang tight to that theory!!! From all the CM it looks like your body was at least trying to O this month! Hopefully that little jump up in Clomid dosage this month will get it done. Sending you positive ovary thoughts 🙂

  5. janet says:

    I hate to say this (because I know how badly you want to ovulate!) but I agree with the assessment that you didn’t actually ovulate, and it’s the progesterone that’s creating the rise. Just my guess. The crosshairs are dotted, which means even FF isn’t sure.

    Sorry, friend. Next month! I am sending so many good vibes!

Leave a comment